mon crest
Rissho Kosei-kai
International of North America
Buddhism for Today
Phone: (323) 262-4430
eMail: info@rkina.org
Like RKINA on FacebookTwitterWatch us on YouTube

Online Kyoten Study

Kyoten

ESSENCE OF THE LOTUS SUTRA


8 Week Course:
Wednesdays
May 10 - July 5, 2017
9:00 - 10:30 p.m. ET / 6:00 - 7:30 p.m. PT

 


$75 General Regisration

$50 Rissho Kosei-kai Members

register now

Questions? Contact RKINA.


Instructor:
Rev. Nick Ozuna

Catalog Description: This is an introductory online course on the core chapters of the Threefold Lotus Sutra, as interpreted through the writings of Nikkyo Niwano, Founder of Rissho Kosei-kai.

Objectives:

Upon completion of this course, a student will be able to do the following:

  1. Develop an understanding of the Kyoten and the essential elements of the Lotus Sutra

  2. Learn to apply the teachings to their every day life.

  3. Convey a moderate understanding of the Lotus Sutra to others.

Format: This is an online class every Wednesday (except June 7) at 6pm PT via WebEx. Each class will be 90 minutes long, including lecture, Q&A, and student presentation. Class starts at:

9:00 p.m. EST, 8:00 p.m. CST, 7:00 p.m. MST and 6:00 p.m. PST.

Access instructions will be provided once you have completed your registration.

Syllabus (pdf)

Required Reading:

  1. Kyoten (available for purchase from RKINA, or download from registration confirmation page or here)
  2. Guide to the Kyoten (available for download from registration confirmation page or here)

Reference Books:

  1. Niwano, Nikkyo, Buddhism for Today. Kosei Publishing, 1975 (download PDF)
  2. The Threefold Lotus Sutra, translated by Bunno, Kato (download PDF)

These books are also available for purchase through RKINA.

Technology Requirements:

  1. Computer with Internet access
  2. Webcam and microphone

*Cost: (nonrefundable)
$ 75 - General registration
$ 50 - Rissho Kosei-kai members (Membership information is required at registration.)

* If you wish to attend, but are unable to afford the fee, please contact your local RK minister to discuss scholarship options.

Class size limited to 30 for optimal learning experience.

 

REGISTER NOW


Kosei logo

The Gift of Life.
The Power to Live.
Rissho Kosei-kai International of North America
2707 East First St., Suite 1, Los Angeles, CA 90033
(323) 262-4430 | info@rkina.org
Website by UmeWorks